How are you at starting a story or a poem or something else creative?

I know that when I sit in front of my laptop screen, my typewriter, or a notebook, my brain often feels like it goes blank! That’s why the brainstorming or inspiration phase is my favorite part of writing. It’s a time when anything is possible!

Two of my favorite ways to find a story are to free write and mind map. Both are pretty common practices of the brainstorming phase, but I think they’re way more fun when you have dedicated pages or organizers to write with. Which is why I have a fun handout for you today to help you find your next story as we ease into summer and hopefully, summer writing!

Click on the image below to open up a free PDF download I recently shared on my personal site, which has a page dedicated for free writing and another one for mind mapping. Use it to find your story, then let me know in the comments what you came up with!

Happy writing!

-Ms. Lore

[embeddoc url=”https://mslore.edublogs.org/files/2019/05/Brainstorm-1-1reo92p-1ekyx0k.pdf” download=”all” viewer=”google” ]

Click to download and print the PDF!


Brainstorm Activities: Helping you Find Your Story
Tagged on:                 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *