Hello again! I’m back for day 4 of the Ethical ELA writing challenge! 

If you missed my first post this week and want to know what the challenge is about, find it all here!

Then, if you’re a fellow educator who writes, there’s still time to join in. You’ll find all the inspiration for day 4 on Sarah’s blog

As for students, read today’s poem, then drop yours in the comments. The prompt is this: write an ode to something you love. Traditionally, odes are poems that honor a person, event, or thing and are written in 3-5 stanzas with 10 lines each. Classical odes are often quite serious, but it’s the 21st century so change it up a bit and add some humor to yours!

 

Ode to my Hydroflask—

Dear one–
You’ve been around far longer than this
#vscogirl craze and
I’m so sorry you have been thrust into the middle of it.
But I must say, I am quite honored
the you have stuck around for so long.
I’ve really put you through the ringer a few times.
The dents on your bright blue frame have given you
character, far superior to your shelved
brothers and sisters.

I must say, I’m also quite fond of the personality
you’ve been developing, too. It was already
obvious that you cared about the environment,
but your responsibilitrees and free the seas stickers
speak volumes to how you care about the world around
you. These days, I keep getting asked if I’m
“trying to save a turtle” but I often just reply that I care deeply
about the world around me. It brings scoffs and eye rolls, but
I know we’re on the same page.
One happy Earth at a time.

Thank you for sticking around through it all.
I appreciate your willingness to travel: both to
new places and the same old routine.
Whether we end up saving 1 million turtles together
or just one, I want you to know
you were there long before the #vscogirls
And every time there’s a snide comment,
just know I’ll set them straight.
After all, your metal exterior sure comes in handy
if someone truly annoys me.

 

Happy Writing!

-Ms. Lore

If you liked today’s post, make sure to subscribe to my newsletter where I share reading recommendations & thoughts like these a few times a month. I’ll also send you my 40 Book Challenge guide as a thank you!


August day 4 || Ethical ELA 5-day writing challenge
Tagged on:                 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *