Hello again! I’m back to day 2 of the Ethical ELA writing challenge.

If you missed my first post and want to know what the challenge is about, find it all here!

Then, if you’re a fellow educator who writes, join in this week!  You’ll find all the inspiration and explanation on Sarah’s blog

As for students, read today’s poem, then drop yours in the comments. The prompt is this: write a blackjack poem which is a 3 line poem where each line consists of 7 syllables. It’s similar to a haiku, but the structure is a bit different AND a blackjack poem can be about any subject matter! Want to dig deeper? Put together several blackjack poems into one large poem like mine!

MY FAVORITE DAY

Tuesdays seem awfully hard
most weeks. Especially when
you often think they’re Mondays.

So, coffee cup in hand, I
remind myself that they are
actually wonderful.

A quiet day of the week
can be full of surprises.
Sleepy students in their desks

who perk up when you ask them
“If you could write anything all
year, what would it be?” Whispers

start with “music.” Then “fashion.”
And “ video games.” Louder.
“Politics.” “Sports.” “Books.” “My life.”

The room, alive now with ideas.
Pencils moving across the page.
A few smiles here and there

while you let the work unfold.
Sitting back, realizing how
Tuesdays are spectacular

after all is said and done.

Happy Writing!

-Ms. Lore

If you liked today’s post, make sure to subscribe to my newsletter where I share reading recommendations & thoughts like these a few times a month. I’ll also send you my 40 Book Challenge guide as a thank you!


August day 2 || Ethical ELA 5-day writing challenge
Tagged on:                 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *